brygga

Who are we?

Born in Brittany (Laurence) and London (Stephen), we arrived Saint Savinien in May 2019, after more than 20 years of teaching in England, and three years in Cordes-sur-Ciel, where we ran a workshop-boutique. We fell under the charm of the river, Saint Savinien and of the Charente-Maritime in general. Being so calm near the water contributes to our well-being and our creativity, and we decided to share this sweetness of life with our visitors.

 

LITTLE EXTRA AT THE FLOWER PIER

FOR OUR FOREIGN VISITORS

Laurence holds a PGCE from the University of East Anglia in Norwich and has taught French in secondary schools in the UK for over 20 years. It therefore offers French as a foreign language courses, either in private lessons or for two or three people. Conversation, grammar, listening and reading comprehension exercises, games, anything is possible! Please contact us in advance if you are interested in this service during your stay.

Our (small) history

Established in Cordes-sur-Ciel between 2015 and 2018, we decided to leave to be closer to Laurence's family in Brittany after the death of her father, and it was chance that led us to Saint Savinien. We fell in love at first sight: first of all with this magnificent house, in which we feel at homeCharente, but also with its location on the riverside, its garden by the water and its private quay, which we put at the disposal of our guests.

Our (small) team ~ Our (little) team

about-us-headshot-1

Lauren Clary

Boss

Formerly a French teacher, then a secondary school drama teacher in England, I am now a teacher in the tertiary sector in France, a jewellery designer, and I am in charge of the communication of our small business. In my spare time (which are not many!) I love to read and to go snooping in yard sales.

about-us-headshot-2

Stephen Clary

Co-boss

Trained in London and Norwich Art Schools, I was an art teacher for a long time before Laurence and I decided to come and live in France in 2015. For the first time in my life I have my own art gallery, which I enjoy greatly.

I manage in French but don't speak to me too fast!

The Princess of Quai des Fleurs

Princesse Clary

Lady companion

I was born in Carmaux and abandoned when I was seven years old. Fortunately, Stephen and Laurence came to my S.P.A. shelter one day! I knew right away that I had to go and live with them and I seduced them with the power of my soft brown eyes. I have been very happy since then with my humans. I am of a placid and sweet nature, and a little greedy too! When I want to have fun, I go lizard hunting!

Next steps....

For any information contact us by using our contact page, by sending an email to 49quaidesfleurs@gmail.com, or by calling Laurence on 06 71 17 68 49.

brygga

Qui sommes-nous?

Natifs de Bretagne (Laurence) et de Londres (Stephen), nous sommes arrivés à Saint Savinien en mai 2019, après plus de 20 ans passés à enseigner en Angleterre, et trois ans à Cordes-sur-Ciel, où nous tenions un atelier-boutique. Nous sommes tombés sous le charme de Saint Savinien et du fleuve, ainsi que de la Charente-Maritime en général. Etre ainsi au calme prêt de l'eau contribue à notre bien-être et à notre créativité, et nous avons décidé de partager cette douceur de vivre avec nos visiteurs.

 

PETIT EXTRA A QUAI DES FLEURS

POUR NOS VISITEURS ETRANGERS

Laurence est titulaire d'un PGCE de l'Université d'East Anglia à Norwich et a enseigné le français dans le secondaire en Grande Bretagne pendant plus de 20 ans. Elle propose donc aux personnes intéressées des cours de français langue étrangère, soit en cours particuliers, soit pour deux ou trois personnes. Conversation, grammaire, exercices de compréhension orale ou écrite, jeux, tout est possible! Merci de nous contacter à l'avance si ce service vous intéresserait pendant votre séjour.

Notre (petite) histoire

Établis à Cordes-sur-Ciel entre 2015 et 2018, nous avons décidé de partir pour pouvoir être plus proche de la famille de Laurence en Bretagne après le décès de son papa, et c'est le hasard qui nous a conduit à Saint Savinien. Le coup de foudre fut immédiat: pour cette magnifique maison tout d'abord, dans laquelle on se sent bien, mais aussi pour sa situation en bord de Charente, son jardin près de l'eau et son quai privatif, que nous mettons à la disposition de nos hôtes.

Notre (petite) équipe ~ Our (little) team

about-us-headshot-1

Laurence Clary

Boss

Anciennement prof de français, puis de théâtre dans le secondaire en Angleterre, je suis maintenant prof dans le tertiaire en France, créatrice de bijoux, et je m'occupe de la communication de notre petite entreprise. A mes moments perdus (qui ne sont pas nombreux!) j'adore lire et aller fouiner dans les vide-greniers.

about-us-headshot-2

Stephen Clary

Co-boss

Formé aux Beaux Arts de Londres et de Norwich, j'ai longtemps été prof d'arts plastiques, avant que Laurence et moi ne décidions de venir vivre en France en 2015.

Je me débrouille en français mais ne me parlez pas trop vite!

The Princess of Quai des Fleurs

Princesse Clary

Dame de compagnie

Je suis née à Carmaux et j'ai été abandonnée quand j'avais sept ans. Heureusement Stephen et Laurence sont un jour venus faire un tour dans mon refuge S.P.A.! J'ai su tout de suite qu'il fallait que j'aille vivre avec eux et je les ai séduits par le pouvoir de mes doux yeux bruns. Je suis très heureuse depuis avec mes humains. Je suis de nature placide et douce, et un peu gourmande aussi! Quand j'ai envie de m'amuser, je vais à la chasse aux lézards!

Étapes suivantes...

Contactez-nous pour tous renseignements en utilisant notre page de contact, en envoyant un mail à 49quaidesfleurs@gmail.com , ou en téléphonant à Laurence au 06 71 17 68 49.